Confessions of a Disorganized Poet

Defining moments, at least in my life, often arrive by way of a cluttered apartment. Projects draw me inward, I work on and finish them, and am faced by new projects and the debris of my earlier work. Stacks of paper on my “junk” ironing board, my desk covered in an unseemly number of scraps and bits and full pages and bills and advertisements…bring out my clean-up-the-mess champion, Confessions of an Organized Homemaker. Toss the odds and ends out, clean your space up!

And here’s a sure-fire tip: Clutter does not encourage creativity!

It’s an uphill battle, of course–I find an intriguing bit of writing I thought I had abandoned or (worse) something I thought I had lost. My answer: put it all in a special folder to be sorted through later. Much more is involved than that, but even so, at times I’ve gotten close to an organized and attractive space…

RT’s advice: keep working on it!

*

Photo: Postit; Author: Nevit Dilmen; WikiCmns; Licence: CC 3.0 Unported.

  1. November 9, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Later, always later. Oh, Lordy, do I hear you. On the surface my place looks neat-ish. Has to for my husband! But oh the files, and drawers, and notebooks full of ideas, possibles, probables, want tos. I have many tidy stacks. What I haven’t figured out is a good way to get back quickly to the ideas I felt strongly about but wasn’t ready for. For some reason stickies don’t do it. I reread whole notebooks, which isn’t such a bad thing.

    I love your surface full of post-its. I may adapt that for a ‘want to get back to this’ strategy. I’ll have to keep it out of sight though. Hmmm.

    Looking forward to tea with the dragon. Yes, I am combining comments. I speak Cantonese, so your article was of particular interest. Living in the States for several years now, what I have lost are the suprasegmentals [gorgeous word]. My inner ear does not remember the exact tone, which in Cantonese is even more of a problem than Mandarin!

    margo

    • November 9, 2011 at 8:07 pm

      margo: good to hear from you, combined comments or not…but sorry about your loss of the tones…I had a Chinese/English speaking friend demonstrate the tones for me once, and darned if I could hear much of a difference…Tea with the Dragon is steeping away! eric

  2. November 14, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I certainly need to organize better. I come up with these awesome ideas, then I can’t find them again. They’re all hidden in my notebooks.

    • November 14, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks, Duck, for stopping by & commenting…disorganization seems to be a professional hazard for writers, so I may add some additional resources to this post. & you have a cool site! RT

  1. December 26, 2011 at 10:17 am

Leave a Reply

