Home > 1. Famous Poems > Wild Nights! Wild Nights!

Wild Nights! Wild Nights!

∞∞∞

I continue my slow, wending journey through Emily Dickinson’s Collected Poems, and what discoveries I am making! Her technique, range, and intensity are breath-taking. And did I mention her intensity?? Sequestered as she was, Ms. Dickinson was hardly a monk. Her passion, intellectual and otherwise, bursts forth from her quatrains–not the verse form I would choose to express my passion for nature, life, and writing–and those individuals lucky enough to be the subject of poems such as the one that follows. Yes, among other things, she was an outstanding love poet! I doff my hat to such intensities!

∞∞∞

Wild Nights! Wild Nights!

Were I with thee,

Wild Nights should be

Our luxury!

Futile the winds

To a heart in port, —

Done with the compass,

Done with the chart!

Rowing in Eden!

Ah! the sea!

Might I but moor

To-night in Thee!

∞∞∞

∞∞∞

Photo: Fair Copy of Wild Nights; WikiCmns; User: EAmezaga; Public Domain.

  1. November 19, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Clever poem.

  2. November 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    I discovered her poems about 15 years ago and felt the same as you, noticing that she writes great love poems. I have grown to love them. This particular poem is lovely. Janet

    • November 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Janet: love to hear your lovely responses ;)… eric

  3. November 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    My favourite poem of hers (though I haven’t read all of them)

  4. November 27, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Good poem. I like poetry. It’s short, but can get a lot across. I wish I was better at poetry. It’s fun when I’m able to write a good one, but usually I just can’t manage it.

    • December 9, 2011 at 1:00 am

      thanks, DOI, for the appreciation! something tells me that with a little practice, you might find your poetry more satisfying (certainly, your imaginations seems vivid–and a little slanted towards humor). RT

  5. December 17, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    oh yay! this is one of my FAVORITE Emily Dickinson poems! and I rarely see it referenced. Huzzah for passionate writers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

