Home > B. The Living Artifact, J. Mood Indigo > My Grandfather, 1914

My Grandfather, 1914

 

Life can be amazing. This evening, after a long day of work writing at home & looking for work at the local library, I got on the net at my mom’s apartment and started looking for information on my grandfather, Mom’s dad. First, the bad news: Google News Archive is no more. For whatever reason, this excellent, free source for old newspaper articles went defunct last May. & the good news: within minutes, I found the Library of Congress’s Chronicling America site and did a search on my grandfather, quickly turning up several articles on his performances in New Orleans in the period 1912-1914. & Best of all: this amazing photo of granddad, published in 1914 along with the review of the play he was performing in.

This is by far the best photo we have found of him so far. And now we can confidently place him in New Orleans, a location we felt pretty sure he had performed in (though we were looking at a different time period). Merry Christmas, Granddad! RT

  1. December 4, 2011 at 6:24 am

    wow thats a grandfather to be proud of

    • December 4, 2011 at 6:54 am

      thanks, squiznit, for the encouraging comment. The more we’ve found out about him, the prouder we are of what he accomplished.

  2. December 4, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I know just how delighted you feel. I inherited the mantle of the family genealogist two months ago and am wading through the tremendous work my uncle has done, trying to confirm, and also trying to break through the brick walls, of which there are many. I have found few things that can steal the time like working on genealogy. Thanks for the link. I have been avoiding paid document sites but am reaching the point where I need to make a list and cough up.

    Welcome home to your grandfather.

    m

    • December 9, 2011 at 12:58 am

      Margo: thank you for the lovely comment; I shared this with my mother and she was touched. There are many brick walls out there, but also many delightful courtyards behind them… good luck with your family-hunting efforts! eric

  1. February 28, 2014 at 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

