Home > N. Fun > Birthday #52–Summer Rain

Birthday #52–Summer Rain

for a poet, i don’t think much about age…no “That time of year thou mayst in me behold.”

Or maybe I’m just kidding myself. When recently, at work, I met a 15-year-old budding intellectual (he wants to be an astrophysicist and learn 11 languages), I had to stop and wonder what I was like at 15. Certainly I hadn’t determined what career might be right for me (or maybe I had; I had already fallen in love with The Lord of the Rings).

Anyway, 52 offers a certain hallow clang when struck. It is raining today (two days after the Big Event) and on certain occasions that would depress me. But not today. I could have 20, 30, or (who knows with advances in genetic therapy?) 200 years ahead of me. We could find a pale blue dot out there somewhere with chlorophyll’s unmistakable chemical signature attached to it (or a pod of albino whales floating in Europa’s hidden ocean). We could decide to feed everyone and set up food stations around the world. I could finish Gilgamesh.

Blogging can soothe the soul of the lonely beast, and I want to thank those folks who have gotten in touch with me in the last couple of days to wish me Happy Birthday. I’ll be in touch with each of you soon.      RT

*

Photo: Flowers in the Rain; Johnathan Billinger (geography org UK); WikiCmns; CC 2.0 Share Alike.

*

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

