Standing Stones

File:Bautastenar vid Vässjevattnet 2.JPG

*

RT concludes this set of posts on beautiful things with a reflection on menhirs, or standing stones. Usually associated with Celtic countries, menhirs are in fact much more widely spread: about 50,000 standing stones are scattered across Europe, Asia, and Africa. Some of these stones are also ancient, associated with the Beaker culture, which flourished between 2800 and 1800 B.C. The particular examples in the photograph are located in Sweden.

These stones exercised a powerful influence on people’s imaginations and beliefs. The idea that stone is the very stuff of creation was not easily shaken off, and some of the passages in the Pentateuch can be read as dealing with the struggle to eliminate the worship of menhirs. Still, as the photo reveals, many people today live their lives undisturbed besides these reminders of the ancient past.

RT

*

Photo: Standing Stones, Sweden. WikiCmns; Public Domain.

*

  1. April 5, 2013 at 11:57 am

    When Shelby lived in England I went to see her and we went to Stonehenge and Avebury. We got behind a tour group walking around the standing stones. The leader was talking about invisible lines of energy in the ground. I was skeptical. He said some of the stones have natural breaks representing eyes and mouths. Then we left the group and continued to walk around the stones trying to pick up the energy. I put my hand in one of the mouth cracks and SCREAMED ! because the stone started talking ! A guy was on the other side of the stone talking and I didn’t know he was there. 🙂 Then we went to Salsbury and looked at Silbury Hill across a field surrounded by a fence. I climbed over the fence and ran around the bottom of the hill. There was a barbed wire fence around it and posted no trespassing signs. I saw a small standing stone next to the fence with an eye , so I thought it meant if you want a good view, here’s the place to go up. I climbed over the fence on it and ran right up the hill on one of those energy lines. I ran around the top of the hill and ran back down without getting busted ! I had so much energy that I couldn’t sleep until I got back to VA. !

    • April 5, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      cl: there is something unmistakably powerful about these stones… RT

  2. April 5, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Here where I am in Wales every other field seems to have a standing stone or two. I must get out and visit as many as I can soon before they ‘accidentally’ get taken for wall-building or a garden feature…

  1. April 5, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

