Home > I. Books, J. Mood Indigo, Updates > A Daughter’s Song and Dance–Reader’s Copies

A Daughter’s Song and Dance–Reader’s Copies

 

MomGradu-1

Folks, this has been a long time coming, but RT can safely say that A Daughter’s Song and Dance, his mother’s childhood memoir, is nearing publication. Reader’s copies of the text are due on Monday. The book isn’t quite print ready (among other things, the front matter must be paginated and some passages need tweaking) but the next hurdle is getting the book out in paper and on e-book reader. To whet the appetite, RT offers this brief extract from chapter 23:

*

My mother may not have understood me the way I wanted her to, but she did understand certain of my needs, as for instance, when I needed to, in her words, “get out of myself.” Others might say that I was moody and introspective, but it came down to the same thing: I needed periodic vacations from the serious business of being me. What’s more, she was good at turning vacations to practical advantage.

So towards the end of my year at Wright-McMahon, Mama had an inspired moment. One day after I had returned from classes, she invited me into her office. Nothing unimportant ever happened during our office conversations, so I sat down with a certain apprehension. This wasn’t another dispensation from on high, was it?

After some pleasantries about my school day, Mama got down to the point: “If you could go anywhere in the world for a visit,” she asked, “where would it be?”

*

More on all this soon…  RT

Photo: Mom’s High School Graduation portrait.

  1. August 12, 2015 at 7:34 pm

    Suffice it to say, I need to know more. NOW.

  2. August 13, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    aubrey: thanks for the enthusiasm. i’m doing my best to get the finished product on lulu as expeditiously as possible. hope all is well with you. eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

